Gilford’s historical society invites the public to attend its Monday evening, September 11th monthly meeting and program, which will take place at picturesque Prescott Farm, at 888 White Oaks Road, Laconia.
The Thompson-Ames Historical Society
weekly news release.
The most recent article is shown below.
You may view previous news releases here...
8/27/06 Sept. 11th Historical Society Meeting To take place at Prescott Conservancy
The evening’s activities will begin at 7:00 p.m. in the recently constructed Samuel P. Pardoe Building, with greetings and words of introduction shared by Joan Nelson, of Gilford’s Thompson-Ames Historical Society, and Scott Fitspatrick, of the Prescott Farm Audubon Society.
At 7:30 p.m., Scott Fitzpatrick will conduct a tour of the Samuel P. Pardoe Building, a state of the “green” arts building, which lends its nature to the title of the evening’s program “A Tour of ‘An Energy-Efficient Building’”.
Quoting from T-AHS’s program notes, “Not only is the building pleasing to the eye, but also its design encapsulates a south-facing window wall, maximum insulation and geothermal heating and cooling….” -- In this day and age of escalating petroleum prices, this tour is certain to be an attraction.
Historic Prescott Farm dates back to 1796. For much of the eighteenth century, it was one of the largest dairy farms in New Hampshire.
In 1998, the Pardoe family donated the land to the Prescott Conservancy, Inc. and entered into a management agreement with New Hampshire Audubon.
The Prescott Farm Audubon Center is a year-round environmental education center for the area. It is a peaceful haven of fields, hills, and stonewalls in the rapidly developing Lakes Region.
The Center’s environmental conservation and wildlife protection programs, with an emphasis on outdoor learning experiences, has offered the Co-Seed program to the youngsters in the Gilford schools to help integrate environmental education in school curricula.
With such a wide range of educational programs to offer, it is no wonder that a vision of an educational building developed and saw fruition in the creation of the Samuel P. Pardoe Building.
Gilford’s historical society, which was founded in 1943, has been preserving and celebrating the Gilford’s cultural history for 63 years. A 501(C)(3) not-for-profit charitable organization, Gilford’s Thompson-Ames Historical Society is indebted to volunteers for enabling programs to be offered to the public and to benefactors for providing money to help restore and maintain the historic museum buildings.
Also, during 2006, Gilford’s Thompson-Ames Historical Society is receiving funding from the Samuel P. Pardoe Charitable Foundation to fund its wide array of programs, including the up-coming “Heritage Festival Day!”, on the calendar for Saturday, September 16th.
Gilford’s historical society in conjunction with the Prescott Farm Audubon Center invites the public to tour the unique Samuel P. Pardoe Education Building on Monday evening, September 11th.
Light refreshment will be served after the tour.
This program is open free to the public; however, donations will be gratefully accepted.
For further information about the tour and other Gilford historical society programs, see T-AHS’s website www.gilfordhistoricalsociety.org or call T-AHS at 527-9009.
For further information about Prescott Farm Audubon Center, call 366-5695.